< Deutsch > < English >
German-Austrian-Swiss Clay Group



Awards and Grants



   Meeting calendar

Web Links

updated continuously; for suggestions please send an e-mail

11. MECC 2024 in Plzen/CZ
The Homepage of the 11th MECC this year is now online. Deadline for registration and abstract submission is end of June. On the occasion of the MECC, the general meeting of the DTTG with the election of the board will also take place.

AIPEA Early Career Clay Scientist Network’s webinar
The next event of the bimonthly webinar series will be organized by the representative of the Clay Mineral Society (CMS), Bhabananda Biswas. It will take place on Friday, May 24 at 6 AM (California); 3 PM (Paris); 7 PM (Dhaka); 11 PM (Sydney).
Bhabananda Biswas: "Introduction about CMS and the new event series, Clayminar”.
Zachary Florentino Murguía Burton (Adjunct Lecturer in Earth & Planetary Sciences at Stanford University, USA): "Mojave to Mars: Clay minerals in Earth's extreme deserts as analogs for aqueous alteration across the Solar System"
Amal Kanti Deb (Associate professor at the Institute of Leather Engineering and Technology, University of Dhaka, Bangladesh): "Halloysite Supported Nano Functional Materials for Environmental applications- Green Synthesis and Sustainable Remediation Approaches"
link to register for the webinar

The 2024 (12th) biennial Reynolds Cup competition on quantitative mineralogical analysis is open for registration.
The competition is open to anyone interested in quantitative mineral analysis, with particular emphasis on clay mineralogy. Information about the competition including guidelines and previous winners can be found at https://clays.org/reynolds. The competition is free for all to enter, however, those who are not members of the CMS are encouraged (but not obliged) to become members (see https://clays.org/join_benefits_of_membership.html).
A total of ~100 sets of samples will be made available for distribution. Each set will comprise three samples of ~3–4 g of mineral mixtures commonly found in clay-bearing rocks. All sets of samples will be distributed in the order of registration.
The top three contestants with the most accurate results will be announced at the 61st Annual Meeting of the Clay Minerals Society (3.-6. Jun 2024, Hawaii). Only the names of the top three contestants will be published. The names of the others will remain strictly confidential.
Because of the popularity of the Reynolds Cup and the enormous amount of work put into its preparation, potential participants are strongly encouraged to plan ahead and only request samples if they are sure they can complete the analysis and return results to the organizers by the due date. Those who request samples and do not send in results or fail to return the samples unopened WELL BEFORE the due date will not be eligible to participate in future Reynolds Cups. A waiting list will be kept to offer returned samples to other potential participants.
The Reynolds Cup, blind Round Robin is the perfect way (possibly the only way!) to test the ability and accuracy of your methods of quantitative mineralogical analysis, whatever you prefered method or technique, so join the fun and participate.
To register please go to https://www.clays.org/reynolds-cup-2024/ for online registration.

Reynolds Cup 2024 organisers

International DTTG-Workshop "Qualitative and Quantitative Analysis of Clays and Clay Minerals"

The 10th DTTG-Workshop, held from September 11 to 15 in Hoehr-Grenzhausen, Germany and organised by the Westerwaldcampus of the Koblenz University of Applied Sciences and the Research Institute for Glass and Ceramics (FGK), once again offered an international group of participants from universities and research institutes the opportunity to interact with renowned scientific experts in the field of clay science.
The intensive program with a wide range of exciting lectures on the fundamentals, analytical possibilities, and industrial applications of clay mineralogy, combined with practical analytical exercises, as well as the unique opportunity for networking, was very well received by all participants. A visit to the Westerwald Museum, where participants had the opportunity to present their work in a poster session and receive feedback from the experts, and a workshop dinner completed the event.
The next workshop will take place in 2025, at a location yet to be announced.

Participants and lecturers of the 2023 workshop.
The participants of the 2023 workshop
(missing on the photo Christoph Piribauer and Johannes Kehren, lecturers, and Sinje Zimmer, exercise coach).

The organisers: Marcel Engels (FGK) and Olaf Krause (FH Koblenz)

(Clay-)Job offers
update: May 24th 2024
Web-Moderator M. Ploetze